Skip navigation

Lately I’ve had this feeling that I would want to travel the world, and I sometimes wish I lived many years ago being a member of some expedition team, exploring and searching for unknown regions and such.
For now, I guess I’ll have to explore using the internet. 😉

At the border of Venezuela, Brazil and Guyana lies Monte Roraima, the world’s highest tepui (tabletop mountain) with it’s 2,810 metres (9,219 feet). The table mountains in the area are considered to be some of the oldest geological formations on Earth, dating back about 2 million years. It is also thought to be the mountain that inspired Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to write the famous 1912 novel “The Lost World”.

Roraima from the north
Roraima from the north
Photo by Bruce Means. Taken from climbing.com

“One third of the species of plant life on Roraima evolved there and is unique to the plateau. Roraima is one of the harshest environments for life in the world. It rains almost every day of the year. Almost the entire surface is bare sandstone rock and it is, therefore, extremely difficult for plant roots to get a hold. Plants do suffer consequences due to the high rainfall as most of the nutrients that are present in the soil are washed away by torrents that cascade over the edge, forming some of the highest waterfalls in the world. Many plants therefore, due to this nutrient deficiency, became carnivorous. Such types of plant are the marsh pitcher, some sundew species, and bladderwort.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Roraima

A View of Roraima’s water fall
A View of Roraima’s water fall, in the way to the top of the Tepui.
Credits to Bernardo Felix. Taken from summitpost.org

Roraima’s Venezuelan side wall.
Roraima’s Venezuelan side wall.
Taken from summitpost.org

Some external links

6 Comments

  1. Wonderful images. I can’t say that I’ve ever been to Roraima, but I did get to see Bruce Means (first photo) speak at our county courthouse. He’s extremely knowledgable and passionate about these different ecosystems.

  2. Ah, that’s nice. I wish to see him speak too, not that I’m very familiar with him. But I’ve seen some of the documentaries he’s helped producing I think. 🙂

  3. Wow, I would love to visit Mount Roraima! The photos are stunning. Like you, part of me feels I was born in the wrong century. Oh, well. 🙂

    I believe the correct age of Roraima is 2 billion years. This makes it one of the oldest suite of sedimentary rocks on the planet.

    Now I’m going to spend the rest of the day daydreaming…

  4. Roraima is easier to get to from the US than most people think. I did it in 92 and it was a fantastic experience. No mountaineering exper. required…might want to work on the stairmaster for a few weeks first tho!

  5. mount

  6. I flew my hang glider from Mt. Roraima in 1987 with my friend Hernando. We were the first. Mt, Roraima and La Gran Sabana is an incredible place. Like know where else. A great place to be a bird!


Leave a Reply

